Art Direction

We had a class project where we paired up and directed each other for an illustration. The illustration was for an article we had found for one another. I was paired with Sophie (you can find her blog here) and she gave me an article about people in Spain training sea lions to be lifeguards. (Article here.)

I had decided to go with a bold simple art style for this project due to time constraints. I chose a minimal color pallet after looking at already existing contemporary editorial illustration.

After some back and forth discussion with Sophie I came up with this idea. Sophie was looking for a simple and bold image. I ended up going with something a bit lighthearted and portrayed the sea lion as a real life lifeguard sat on its very own lifeguard seat with roof. I used a red/blue/yellow color scheme because I thought it made the image have a summery feel to it.

About myself directing Sophie on creating an image here.

 

Published by

nimillustration

Second year illustration student studying a BA Hons Degree at Hereford College of Arts.

One thought on “Art Direction”

Leave a Reply

